Effective Date: December 1, 2019
We collect a variety of information from you through the Service. This information is divided into three categories: information you submit, information we collect automatically, and information we collect from internal systems.
To use the Service, you have to provide us with certain information about you and your utility account.
In order to use the Service, you'll need to provide us with certain information, including authentication and contact information for your utility account, which will be used to look up and access your Utility Data. We will only use this information to provide your Utility Data to you and your Authorized Persons, unless you give us permission to use it or share it another way.
Our servers automatically collect certain basic information when you use the Site or the Software, such as log information and cookies.
These days, whenever you use a website, mobile application, or other internet service, there's certain information that almost always gets created and recorded automatically. The same is true when you use our Site or Software (even if you decide not to use the Service). Here is some of the types of information we collect:
Log data. When you visit the Site or use the Software, our servers automatically record information ("log data"), including information that your browser sends whenever you visit a website. This log data includes your computer's IP address, browser type, the webpage you were visiting before came to our Site or Software, and how you used the Site or Software (such what parts of the Site you viewed and when, and how often and how long you've used the Site).
Do Not Track Signals and Similar Mechanisms. We do not respond to browser-initiated Do Not Track signals, as the Internet industry is currently still working on Do Not Track standards, implementations, and solutions.
We get information from your utility account, as authorized by you in your Authorization Form.
When you authorize us to do so, we collect your Utility Data from our internal utility data management systems in accordance with your Authorization Form.
We use the information we collect to provide you and develop the Service, provide you with information, and protect Silicon Valley Clean Energy and our users.
We internally use the information we collect about you as follows:
We share the Utility Data with the parties that you authorize, our service providers, and where required to comply with the law. We may also share authorization statistics publicly or with third parties.
We share and disclose the information we collect about you as follows:
We are not responsible for how Authorized Persons use your Utility Data once they download it.
If we get acquired by another company or engage in a similar transaction, your authorization record and logs will transfer to that other company, but your authorization will be revoked and Utility Data will not transfer to that company unless you re-authorize.
You can see and revoke your authorizations at anytime.
You can see your current and previous authorizations for Utility Data sharing by going to your My Authorizations dashboard, or via the link in the receipt email sent to your submitted email address.
You can revoke any current authorization through the same My Authorizations dashboard or receipt email, or by sending us a request to do so through an email sent to firstname.lastname@example.org. When revoked, access to download your shared Utility Data by the Authorized Persons will be immediately removed. However, this does not delete Utility Data already downloaded by Authorized Persons. To delete already downloaded Utility Data, contact your Authorized Persons.
We take measures to protect your information, but no security measures are 100% effective.
We're committed to online data security, and for that reason we take technical and organizational measures to protect your data against accidental or unlawful destruction or accidental loss, alteration, unauthorized disclosure or access. However, no method of transmission over the Internet, or method of electronic storage, is absolutely secure. Therefore, while we strive to protect your information, we cannot guarantee its absolute security.
While your Utility Data is shared only for the duration of your authorization, we keep your authorization records and receipts indefinitely.
When your authorization expires or is revoked, we will immediately remove access by the Authorized persons to download your Utility Data. The records and receipt of the authorization will be retained so that you can see your previous authorizations in your My Authorizations dashboard and the Authorized Persons can see the expired or revoked authorization in their authorization history.
We don't knowingly collect information from children under 13.
This Policy applies to information we collect on or after the Effective Date above. This Policy may change, but those changes will not be retroactive unless you agree.